Trusting God Sometimes Means Letting Go

I still remember when I prayed to God for a job, my first real job. I had no professional experience and I didn’t know if I would get anything more than an unpaid internship. I scattered portfolios round, trusting that God would make it happen for me, if it was His will.

I vividly recall the day I got called for a job interview. It was unexpected, because I had not applied for the position; someone had forwarded my portfolio. I was nervous and underqualified to be honest, but I trusted in God that He would give me grace and the words to say.

I can pinpoint many, many times when I felt stuck. Working as a graphic designer can be tough at times. I’d have a hard time with a logo or I wouldn’t know what to do with a print ad, but I would pray to God trusting that He would give me divine inspiration and the strength to continue working.

I remember the day I knew for a fact that Graphic Design isn’t my thing. I struggled for a few months, trying to figure out if it was a whim of mine. I tried to figure out what else I should do if not graphic design. I still don’t have a clue; but I’m trusting that God has a better plan and a better way than whatever I can plan for myself.

I can still taste the day I decided to leave. It was bittersweet; I somehow felt that I was throwing away the job that God sent to answer my prayers. I didn’t want to be irresponsible or ungrateful. I wanted to make sure that I was doing God’s will. Would God’s will mean quitting–no other job; no backup plan? It was a hard decision, but I made it, convinced that God had called me to trust Him with work, and now He is calling me to trust Him in this period of rest.

You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.    -Isaiah 26:3

The Lord is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts, and I am helped; my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.    -Psalm 28:7

Leave a Reply

