Problem = Opportunity

Image Credit: putmeincoach13.blogspot.com

I found myself arriving home after a very long day at work, only to find out that I didn’t have the house keys. I would have to wait for an hour at least before anyone got home.

I was frustrated and tired, almost at the verge of tears because I really didn’t want to wait outside, and because whatever I had planned to do would have to be postponed.

I sat on the cold stairs and took deep breaths to calm myself down. Almost like an epiphany, I realized what I frequently forget: before I even thought about leaving work, God knew that I didn’t have my keys and that I would have to wait outside for a while. 

Maybe this was all part of His plan to give me a break–a break from the worries of the daily life and from the own excuses I give to justify the fact that I haven’t been spending much time with Him lately. Maybe He knew that if I wasn’t forced to be still, with no laptop or anything else I could work on, then we wouldn’t have had our much needed conversation (and I’m the needy party in the equation).

I sat on the cold stairs, but now, I was content. I was taking in every second of this moment of idleness that I desperately needed. But mostly, I took advantage of this moment of quiet solitude, of no responsibilities to distract me, to pray to my God.

He knew, better than I would, that I really needed to be locked out.

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good […]”    -Romans 8:28

2 responses to “Problem = Opportunity

  1. I love each and every one of your posts but this one in particular made me stop for a second to think. Sometimes, we get caught up in the daily rush of life and kinda put aside what’s really important, not on purpose, but we do. I’m glad God gave you a mini break when you least expected it but just when you needed it the most.
    “God works in mysterious ways!”

Leave a Reply

