Just Do It!

I’m at a crossroads in my life right now. I’m in my senior year of college, the moment when the amount of courses I need to take per semester has drastically dropped, and the responsibilities of the future are starting to weigh on me. I’m a year away from graduating and I still don’t know what I’m going to do with my life. I feel like the Lord is calling me to leave my comfortable job, working at my dad’s company which has nothing to do with my field, and go out and find a job and just do something! I know this is what He wants me to do, I just don’t know how to get myself to do it.

You see… I’m a planner. I like to know what I’m going to be doing, have a plan of tasks to accomplish for the day or the week. I don’t like to waste time, that’s why I do a mental list every day of the things I need to get done, so I can plan what my day will look like. This situation I am in has got me out of control. I know that the Lord is calling me to take steps, but I don’t know what I’ll be stepping into. I find myself praying for God to open doors for job opportunities, while at the same time wanting to do some freelance work. Actually, being completely honest, I’d really like to do some freelance work.

What is my problem? It’s my lack of faith. Starting to do some freelance work requires a big leap into the unknown, it requires me to do things by myself and trust God with the outcome. I’m scared of whether I’ll be able to do a good job, make clients happy, live up to their expectations, or even be able to make a living out of this. I’m scared of not knowing if I’ll be capable and skilled, but I know that it’s also because I’m relying in my own talents and strengths and planning… maybe more than I should.

My mom suggested I start making my own business cards to promote myself as a photographer and graphic designer. I hesitated a little, again because of my lack of faith. But at one point, I just decided to forget about everything (my doubts, insecurities, my fear of failure and the unknown), and JUST DO IT! No overanalyzing things. This is where I feel the Lord is leading me, and I need to trust Him beyond my abilities, I need to trust that He will glorify Himself in the midst of my weakness.

I’ve already started working on my business cards. My family is supporting me. And somehow, even through all the chaos in my mind, I feel peace in my heart. Maybe, through this blog, we might be able to live this journey together and see where the Lord takes me.

You might be in the same position I am in right now. Right now, I’m scared of taking a step into the work force, but I realize that almost everything in life will require me to take a leap of faith or take a risk or put fear behind me. And you just might be at the brink of a cliff as well: you might be deciding whether to enter a new job or leave your current one, you might be deciding whether to move to a different house or a different country, you might be getting to know someone and wondering whether this is the person you could marry, you might be choosing what to study or countless other things[…]

1. Pray about it. If God hasn’t shown you a red light, you probably should go on with it.

2. Seek advice. Talk to someone you trust, and ask for opinions, prayers and support.

3. JUST DO IT! You just might find that the fall wasn’t all that scary!

“Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.
      Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.
   I will strengthen you and help you.
      I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.”
                                          -Isaiah 41:10

Are you standing before a cliff right now? Do you feel God calling you to take a leap of faith?

3 responses to “Just Do It!

  1. Pingback: Start «·

  2. Pingback: Work Isn’t All About the Money | Lorena's Garden·

  3. Pingback: I Have a Job! And God is Still Faithful | Lorena's Garden·

Leave a Reply

